DELF : Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française (French Language Studies Diploma)
DALF : Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française (Advanced French Language Diploma)

The DELF and DALF are the official diplomas delivered by the French Ministry of National Education. They consist of six different diplomas that correspond to the six levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. These diplomas have lifetime validity and are designed for foreign candidates and for French nationals originating from a non-French speaking country and not holding a French High School Diploma or a Higher Education Diploma.

According to their age, candidates may pass the DELF junior.
There is no required level or test for the registration.


TCF: Test de Connaissance du Français (French Knowledge Test)

This test has many different versions depending on your own needs. Therefore, the French Institute in Kuwait offers the following tests:

TCF DAP : Test de Connaissance du Français pour la Demande d’Admission Préalable (French Knowledge Test for Preliminary Admission Application): You need to pass this exam if you are willing to complete your first year of studies in France.

TCF : Test de Connaissance du Français (French Knowledge Test): This exam is designed to determine your level in French. It is well-designed tool that can be adapted to many different situations: academic, professional, immigration to Canada, …

TCF-ANF : Test de Connaissance du Français pour l’Accès à la Nationalité Française (French Knowledge Test for Access to French Nationality) : Applicants for French citizenship need to pass the French Knowledge Test for Access to French Nationality, or must provide a DELF diploma (B1 level at least). The TCF-ANF test evaluates oral skills, including speaking and listening skills.

TCF-QUEBEC : Test de Connaissance du Français adapté au Québec (French Knowledge Test for Quebec): Like the acquisition of French citizenship, The Immigration Office of Quebec requires a French language level assessment for any individual willing to settle permanently in Quebec. In this case, only oral skills will be tested.

The certifications obtained after passing each of the above-mentioned tests have a validity of 2 years.

TEF (Test d’Evaluation du Français (French Evaluation Test) 

For academic, professional, or personal reasons, or for any other reason relating to immigration to Canada (and more specifically to Quebec), you may pass the TEF test that is officially recognized on a national and international level.

TEFEO : Test d’Evaluation du Français – Epreuves Orales (French Evaluation Test – Oral Tests): This test is required for any application for naturalization. It assesses the knowledge and skills of the applicant in different areas of listening and speaking. 

TEFAQ : Test d’Evaluation du Français adapté au Québec (French Evaluation Test for Quebec): This test is specially designed for the immigration to Quebec and is recognized by the Ministry of Immigration and Cultural Communities of Quebec. It assesses oral skills, including listening and speaking.

The French Institute in Kuwait also offers all the above versions of the TEF test in electronic format: E-TEF, E-TEFEO and E-TEFAQ. The content of the electronic format is quite similar to that included in the hard-copy. However, it allows immediate results (listening tests).

Conditions of Registration

  • Fill out the registration form available at the Institute or download it here.

DELF and DALF registration form
TCF Quebec registration form
TEF1 registration form
TEF2 registration form
TEFAQ registration form

  • Enclose a copy of your passport data page.
  • Provide a passport photograph.
  • Pay the registration fees.


Learn more about the DELF and DALF

Learn more about the TCF DAP

Learn more about the TCF

Learn more about the TCF-ANF

Learn more about the TCF Quebec

Learn more about the TEF 

Learn more about the TEFAQ